Missing the trail, what do I mean by that. I could be missing any part, but the one I miss the most is travelling on the trail. Gaining miles after miles gives me more experience every time. I still remember the first hike I went on, the second day I did 17 miles due to misidentified signage, and I was miserable all night my body hurt everywhere. On the end of the trip I was thinking the whole time how much I missed that day. What did I miss – the miles, the things I saw in one day could have been a 3 day trip. Doing Miles hurts but you learn how to handle it and by doing that you can handle anything the trail throws at you. I’m on trail as I type this and do not want to leave. Being on trail gives me so much peace, mentally, emotionally!! Having the (hike on) mentality can keep you going the whole time. In my opinion miles are very important, not necessarily getting as many miles as you can but pushing your self past your comfort zone. Understanding your limits are important but going past them can help you achieve a lot more. Comparing yourself to others on their miles is an option but definitely takes the idea of hiking your own hike to hiking to other hikers way of hiking, which could actually be a negative effect on your mentality. Creating a list or idea sheet of what you want can really benefit your hikes. I do know keeping yourself in a positive outlook on everything keeps you going longer than thinking about what could happen…

